Thursday, May 31, 2007

A Nod to once and future greatness ( I came to worship at the throne of dominion)

Check this rare video for "Tallahassee" from the album Pentastar: In the Style of Demons by EARTH.

Friday, May 25, 2007

Split Magic(k)

From Temple of Darkness Records:
*NOTE: There will be a limited, die hard version (100 copies only) that will be printed as a PIC EP

Love Will Tear Us Apart (Again)

Control is a biopic film about the late Ian Curtis (1956-1980), lead singer of the legendary post-punk rock band Joy Division. The screenplay is based on the book Touching From a Distance, by Curtis' wife, Deborah, who is also a co-producer of the film.

The film details the life of the troubled young musician, who forged a new kind of music out of the punk rock scene of 1970's Britain, and the band Joy Division, which he headed from 1977 to 1980. It also deals with his rocky marriage and extramarital affair, as well as his increasingly frequent seizures, which were thought to contribute to the circumstances that lead to his untimely suicide on the eve of Joy Division's first U.S. tour.

The title is a reference to one of Joy Division's more memorable songs, "She's Lost Control", which many feel Ian Curtis wrote as a reference to his own life.

The film premiered at the Cannes Film Festival, on 17 May 2007, where it was received well by the critics.

Thursday, May 17, 2007

Magic(k) on the Horizon

Drummer/vocalist Proscriptor from the mythological occult metal outfit ABSU has released the following statement to TorqueZine:

"After five years of silence, I am pleased to announce the new lineup of ABSU. "It was a difficult task to replace both Shaftiel and Equitant after being together for nearly 11 years, but now is the time to carry on. Here is the new reorganization of the band:

* Proscriptor McGovern - Percussives, Mellotron, Voices & Lyrical Magick
* Vastator Terrarum - Guitars, Bass Guitar, Analog Synthesizers & Backing Voices
* Aethyris MacKay - Guitars, Bass Guitar, Analog Synthesizers & Backing Voices

"We have begun composing and arranging the material for what will be known as the self-titled album, simply called 'Absu'. "In 2002, four out of 16 tracks were written; two of them we're keeping while the other two we're abandoning.

"We will begin recording in the latter part of autumn 2007 or early 2008 anticipating a release before June 2008 for Osmose Productions/The End Records."

"Absu" projected track listing: (in no particular order)

01. Night Fire Canonization
02. Girra's Temple
03. Amy
04. In the Name of Auebothiabathabaithobeuee
05. 13 Globes
06. Voor
07. Twix Yesterday, The Day & The Morrow
08. Between the Absu of Eridu & Erech
09. Those of the Void Will Re-Enter
10. Magick Square Cipher
11. Sceptre Command
12. Nunbarshegunu
13. Diversified Signs Inscribed
14. Our Earth of Black
15. Ye Uttuku Spells
16. …Of the Dead Who Never Rest in Their Tombs is the Attendance of Familiar Spirits…

Proscriptor added: "Lyrically, I am concentrating more on Sumerian-based occult themes of magick and mythology versus the Celtic aspect of my previous writings, which was heavily expressed on the last few ABSU studio albums. Musically speaking, the material will be quite similar to 'Tara', but with more of a '70s progressive/psychedelic texture within it. You will not be disappointed — trust me.

I will be utilizing the first logo created by Equitant and Belgian artist Kris Verwimp will handle the cover illustration once again."

In other news, Osmose Productions/The End Records will re-release a remastered digipack version of ABSU's last studio album, "Tara", including the EP "In the Eyes of Ioldánach" as bonus tracks, in September.


Wednesday, May 16, 2007

"I'm gonna put another quarter in this machine and take over the fuckin' universe." - Layne

One of my favorite bands (during the John Arch era) doing a song for one of my favorite movies. Find the movie cuz you will never find the S/T. Incidentally, I have it on vinyl. Fucking Classic!!!

"I killed a girl, it was no accident. Put a gun to the back of her head and blew her brains right out the front. I was in love."
"I strangled mine."
"Did you love her?"

"She was okay."

- Feck and Samson 'John' Tollet


Monday, May 14, 2007

Playlist 05.14.07

STRIBORG - Nefaria/A Tragic Journey Towards The Light *Nefaria shows a maturation for Sin Nanna as he draws on influences ranging from bleak and nocturnal soundscapes and ever-hateful and raw black metal. A Tragic Journey Towards The Light is a glimpse into the old world that was primitive Striborg.

DRAWING VOICES - Drawing Voices
ENSLAVED – Monumension
GODFLESH – Streetcleaner
STRIBORG - Embittered Darkness / Isle de Morts
VOMITORY - Revelation Nausea


Wednesday, May 09, 2007

"...then later...tragedy stikes....when Behind the Music returns"


Friday, May 04, 2007


3 fucking thousand hits! Thank you, thank you, thank you x 1,000! The next 1,000 promise to be insane. Don't believe me...?

(((03))) V.2

Wednesday, May 02, 2007

Boris Worship

In the grand scheme of album making, Amplifier Worship stands out as an one that could have easily bore a picture of Baphomet on the front and carried themes of chaos and the occult given the swirling, sullen and grim nature of the music. But in fact, the album clandestinely delivers the cryptic message:

"Frogs love to eat flies, the devil's name, Beelzebub, lord of the flies. Evil spirits love to spiritually feed upon those whom Beelzebub rules."

What does it mean? Who knows...I'm not even sure the quote appears on the first version of the album.

Released in 1998 on the Mangrove label and then again in 2003 by Southern Lord, it is the only Boris release to feature vocals on every song and the first time bassist Takeshi performed lead vocals (although drummer Atsuo did lead vocals on "Huge"). The song "Vomitself" was written and laid down in a different session from the other four songs and videos were shot for "Hama" & "Kuruimizu".

One thing is for sure, Amplifier Worship stands alone (as does pretty much any of the works by Boris) as unique, provocative and hugely entertaining.


Tuesday, May 01, 2007

Playlist 05.01.07

STRIBORG - Embittered Darkness/Isles de Morts
AGORAPHOBIC NOSEBLEED - Frozen Corpse Stuffed with Dope
EARTH - Hibernaculum
MOTORHEAD - Kiss of Death
MAYHEM - Wolf's Lair Abyss